Warren County Iowa Genealogical Society




    Milo United Methodist Church

    Milo United Methodist Church, 300 Spruce St., Milo, IA. 50166, (641) 942-7739, first church built in 1885. See their Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/MiloUMC


    “50 Years in Same Building,” is the title of an article from an unknown paper and unknown date at the Warren County Historical Society Library.

    Methodism in Milo has been served by three buildings. The first was built in 1885. It was replaced in 1910 by a second church which was erected on the present site. It was destroyed by fire in 1921 and the present church was built at a cost of #32,000.00.

    The Milo United Methodist congregation will observe its 50th year in the present building with special services Sunday afternoon at 2;30. The Rev. Floyd NEWBROUGH, pastor from 1952-1955, will be the speaker. A piano, given by Homer R. HORNADAY in memory of his wife, Lochie E. KIMZEY HORNADAY, will be dedicated during the service. It will be played along with the organ.

    Mrs. HORNADAY sang at the cornerstone laying service in 1921, and her great nieces and nephew, Susan VAN ESSEN, Barbara and John GILBERT, will sing the same song for the 50th Anniversary Service. Two former pastors went on to serve as district superintendents. They were Dr. O. E. COOLEY and Dr. Frank LISTER. Dr. COOLEY, who is retired and serving at Gillman, is expected to be in attendance Sunday. A fellowship hour, with refreshments, will follow the service.

    Milo Methodist Church, written by the Rev. John L. BEEBOUT, copied from the History of Warren County, Iowa, by Gerard SCHULTZ and Don L. BERRY, The Record and Tribune Company, Indianola, Iowa, 1953, pages 119-151

    Methodism had a humble beginning in this community, being one of fourteen churches served by one minister located at Pleasantville. The first church services and class meetings were held in the old mill and in the hall over Bryan VAN SYOC’S store. In 1880 a parsonage was built in Milo which is now the home of Simon KNOUSE. Under the pastorate of J. L. JOHNSON the first Methodist church was built where the Christian Union church now stands. This building served from 1885 to 1910 when it was replaced by a brick structure. On January 29, 1921, the building was destroyed by fire.

    The cornerstone of the present church was laid August 9, 1921, and dedicated under the ministry of the Rev. L. L. SMITH, On May 4, 1941, Victory Day was celebrated with the burning of the mortgage. The Rev. J. A. WORRELL, minister at that time, was in charge of services.

    This building, a large brick structure, has adequate facilities to care for worship, church school, youth program and the Woman's society, and stands as a memorial to loyal fathers and mothers and grandparents of its present congregation.

    Under the leadership of various ministers, several rededication and improvement programs have added to the beauty and efficiency of the church. Two beautiful maple trees were planted as a memorial to Everett MALES and Carl POLSON April 28, 1922. These still stand as a beautiful memorial twenty-nine years later. The church bell was purchased by the children and rung the first time Armistice day, 1922.

    This charge was served by two ministers who since have served the Iowa-Des Moines conference as district superintendents, Dr. O. E. COOLEY and Dr. W. Frank LISTER. Many who now serve in the church hold in fond memory the ministry of Dr. LISTER who, during his pastorate, 1923-25, guided them to a rich religious experience.

    The following ministers have served since 1866: R. W. THORNBURG, W. H. SHEETS, M. SHEETS, A. A. RIGBY, J. J. D. SCOLES, A. H. MURPHY, F. M. SLUSSER, S. GUYER, A. J. BARTON, M. R. HARNED, B. B. KENNEDY, S. FARLOW, J. L. JOHNSON, D. S. MAIN, F. P. NEWLAND, S. L. CULMER, A. L. BATES, C. C. CULMER, E. Victor SMITH, John HARNED, Alfred KNOLL, J. L. JOHNSON, R. J. TENNANT, I. N. WOODWARD, B. R. VAN DYKE, Victor WEST, H. D. GLASSBURN, A. F. CONREY, L. L. SMITH, W. Frank LISTER, Donald AVERY, C. Hugo ORF, O. E. COOLEY, Fred B. MOORE, O. G. ORCUTT, James A. WORRELL, Nobel B. BLACKMAN, and Harold N. OLSON. Dr. Stuart C. PETERSON supplied the charge for six months until the coming of the present minister, John L. BEEBOUT, in June, 1949.

    The membership of the church is now maintained at 209 active members. The church has a broad vision of the world church and gives liberally to missions and benevolences, contributing last year a total of $1,632. The local budget for the year is $4,474.

    The present trustees of the church are: H. E. BAUGHMAN, Garold McCAULEY, Herbert NUTTING, R. D. AMSBERRY, Raymond SHOEMAKER, P. G. ERVIN, Aubrey GILBERT, Albert McLARNAND and H. W. NUTTING. Mrs. Francis LONG is president of the Woman's society, Kenneth KING is Sunday school superintendent, and Marvin BAUGHMAN is youth president.

    Milo United Methodist Church, Milo, Iowa 1883-1983, Celebrating 100 Years of Service, September 11, 1983, booklet at the Warren County Historical Society Library